Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Benefits to taking Glock Armorers Courses ?

Benefits to taking Glock Armorers Courses ?

Hello - I'd thought about taking the Glock armorer's courses. Unfortunately, the class offered that was fairly close to me was cancelled. If I were to sign up for any of the scheduled 2015 or 2016 classes it would run me at least $450 for class, hotel, gas & food. I'm a vet, but not active LEO or military. I'm guessing that I would also have to join GSSF to qualify to sign up.
    I know how Glocks basically work. What benefits would there be for a civilian CCW holder to take the basic and advanced armorers courses ? Thanks -

As an interesting diversion, from an academic standpoint, and if you've got the money to burn, you would enjoy it.

If you DON'T have the money to burn, anything you're not clear about regarding servicing your pistol you could learn for free right here, with the proper questions.

Its kind of like my upcoming trip to GunSite. You must start out with their basic class; I could possibly get a waiver for one of the advanced classes, but my wife could not. So we'll do the basic "this is a gun, the bullets come out of this end and we'll go from there" offering. I don't expect to learn much, if anything. No doubt there will be a few nuggets of info to be gleaned, but mainly I'll coast through it. My wife, OTOH, although she is no cherry at this, should learn a tremendous amount. I know, that sounds arrogant on my part, but there it is.

My point is, its a very expensive trip that will gain me not much more than being able to say I've been there... which is the whole idea. GunSite started it all, and has been one of my bucket list items since I was a pup. But by the time I was in a position to be able to go, I was pretty far along in other training/experience, so I couldn't see the point. Now, in my declining years, I'm going just because.