Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast

Thread: When do you divorce a handgun?

When do you divorce a handgun?

I've been a glock guy for a couple of years. Put a class or three into it, a small bag of holsters and magazines and accoutrements. It's familiar, dependable, does the job.

Now I've been flirting with this VP9.

It shoots wherever I point it. There are some parts to it I'm still getting accustomed to, but out of the box I shoot *much* better with it. I haven't gotten down to timing or splits because I'm a total amateur, but it just feels like cheating sometimes.

I don't know if it's the gun or me… but I'm wondering if it matters.

When do you guys decide (if ever!) to sell out of a system, especially if you've put a lot of money and time into it? Have you ever done it and hen regretted it? What steps do you take to figure out if it's a mechanical issue with the piece, or a personal issue? (trigger press etc.)

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Two criterion determine whether I change guns. I'd know, cause I've done it wrong a lot.

One: determine the logistical cost of new holsters, mags ,sights, and so forth. Do the math for a 1-1 match in capability.IE, old gun has night sights price what the new one would be with them too.

With some brands, especially premium Euro ones like HK, the cost of buying new mags and holsters alone can ruin a transition .
    The Minority Marksman.
    "When you meet a swordsman, draw your sword: Do not recite poetry to one who is not a poet."
    -a Ch'an Buddhist axiom.

I've always felt like the main objective in all forms of shooting was hitting my intended target. If "A" does that demonstrably better than "B" - with no insurmountable shortcomings - I'm probably going to go with the gun that produces a better result for me unless there's some compelling reason not to .... and I realize there can be a host of reasons not to.
    Last edited by 41magfan; 11-09-2015 at 02:06 PM.