Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Suppressed subgun for HD use?

Site Supporter

Suppressed subgun for HD use?

I am considering options for a suppressed weapon for home defense and would like some feedback.

Based on research so far, there is really not a good hearing-safe option for a rifle caliber since subsonic .223/5.56 is a no-go and subsonic .300 BLK ammunition that expands is pretty much non-existant(?).

Sig's new 9mm subgun may hold some promise, with subsonic 9mm ammunition widely available. I realize 9mm projectiles may be less safe for use in a home than 5.56, but really any effective weapon poses a risk with missed shots.

A shotgun loaded with #1 buckshot holds some advantages, but is still very loud especially indoors.

So I ask, is there merit to the idea of a supressed pistol-caliber carbine for HD use? I have no experience with suppressed pistols, so I wonder if the handling characteristics are greatly affected by the weight of the can up front -- would a suppressed carbine handle better than a suppressed pistol? It would not be terribly difficult or expensive to set up one of my current handguns for suppressor use.

Thanks for any input.

Personally, I'd be inclined more towards adding something like the AWC Abraxas II for $500 to a 9mm pistol than I would starting down the black hole of subguns, suppressed or otherwise. My feeling is that, while some manufacturers may not have gotten the memo and continue to release new versions, the subgun has fallen largely out of favor meaning support for them can be dicey. Not to mention one tax stamp vs. two, overall financial investment in a completely new, different, firearm, etc.

The Thompson Machine Poseidon is another excellent micro can.

Modding this sack of shit BehindBlueI's's Avatar