Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: How to handle stupid comments from the RO

How to handle stupid comments from the RO

So as some of you know, I am new to shooting, starting in 2013.

I was at my local club public range the other week, and had an odd experience with one of their Range Officers, and was wondering how I could have handled it better.

I arrived around 9:30, and waited till the range was cold to walk my B-8 downrange at the 25 yard line.

When the range went hot, I picked up my VP9, empty, and proceeded to do some dry fires, as I usually do. I try and visually drill the last thing I do at home (dry fire for several days prior) when I get to the range.

Well, I was about five good presses in, when I hear in my electronic muffs behind me, loudly, "Heh, must be one of those silencer guns."

I kind of tuned that out, but then appears next to me one of the Range Officers at my elbow, interrupting me to tell me, "You know, it won't fire like that."

I turned my head, with my VP9 extended, smiled, and said "I understand, thanks."

Well, I was so flustered by a RO making such an idiotic and unwelcome comment, that I could not focus on the rest of my planned course of practice. I shot two strings of 10 at 25 yards, then I packed up my things and left.

My question is, are these kind of comments typical of Range Officers?

Should I have said something back, or to the Rangemaster controlling the range?

Or is this just to be expected, and I should HTFU and get on with life?

Thanks...
    Last edited by RJ; 10-01-2015 at 05:13 PM.

There are stupid comments, and then there are Stupid Comments. This one isn't even in the top twenty I've heard.

It's probably worth mentioning that most shooters don't dry fire, and have no idea that some people use dry fire to practice. Many gun guys still think that dry firing can break your gun.

In general, I'd suggest the 'HTFU and get on with your practice' approach.
    Last edited by Chris Rhines; 10-01-2015 at 04:50 PM.