Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: How to write an After Action Report?

How to write an After Action Report?

I did a quick search and was looking for some kind of sticky on what exactly should be written in an AAR. I didn't find anything here with my quick search.

I keep a journal for my own use but, I'm not use to writing an AAR for the public. Is there a thread on how to write one? I'm interested in seeing what really should be included and what shouldn't be included.

I would think things like who taught it, what was the focus of the course etc should be included.

I can think of a few things that shouldn't be included: people's names that attended, exact drills performed that would be considered intellectual property.

If you are reading an AAR what would you like included, what do you think is just a waste of time and space to include and what do you think should never be included in an AAR?

Thanks for the guidance.

I'm just a random noob, not ex .mil or LEO. I think this is a great question, though, and I'd be interested in the answers you get.

Since I use class AARs to get an idea of a course, I came up with a list of info I would like to see. Since it is along the lines of the topic, I'll paste it in below.

Essential:

Course Name:
    Date:
    Course Overview:
    Fee:
    Instructor Bio:
    Venue:

Desirable:

Learning Objectives:
    Syllabus:
    Pre-Requisites:
    Required Equipment:
    Recommended Equipment:
    Total Ammunition needed:
    Local accommodations / RV Parks:

Hope this helps...
    Last edited by RJ; 09-21-2015 at 07:54 AM.

I recall la forum that had good guidelines. I'll see if I can find them.

Personally, the thing that I find most important is the writer's previous experience, both professional (are you a cop, soldier, none of the above?) and private (prior training, competition shooting experience, etc). Putting the review in context is extremely helpful.