Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Am I Shooting Enough?

Am I Shooting Enough?

A little background: I’m currently 23 years old and started really getting into guns when I turned 18. I got a Glock 22 and shot the snot out of it the summer before going to college. I was shooting about 2-4 days a week for the whole summer. Starting out I sucked, but got to the point I could put bullets where I wanted them. Shooting out to 25 wasn’t a huge deal for me. Between that time though I haven’t been shooting a whole lot. I had a couple years where I maybe went shooting once or twice in a year. Last summer I took a foundation handgun class and it made me realize how much I need to get back into shooting and work on my fundamentals. So I started shooting a lot again. Probably 200 rounds a week and my fundamentals got much better. Of course that only lasted so long and I got back into the groove of being lucky to shoot once a month.

I took a handgun class in May with Steve Fisher. Going into the class, I hadn’t shot my pistol in probably 2 or 3 months. I sucked. Flat out. I decided I needed to get on a shooting schedule that I could stick to. So I go shooting every other week and typically fire 75-200 rounds per session. While this is schedule is better, I’m not sure if I’m really shooting enough to see solid improvement. I do some dry fire practice, but I know not as much as I should.

My real question is, am I shooting enough to see meaningful improvement in my shooting? I suck at 25 yards and I don’t appear to be getting any better. I have seen some improvements like in shooting the FAST test. I used to always miss one or two shots running that test. Now I typically run it clean and a little faster than before. Any feedback is appreciated.

Quote Originally Posted by warpedcamshaft View Post
    Do you dryfire?
    Yes, not as much as I should though. I don't really have issues with the front sight moving though. It's easy to pull the trigger on a gun you know isn't loaded.