Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Advice With Shooting-Specific Strength Training

Advice With Shooting-Specific Strength Training

I had Ulnar nerve surgery on my left elbow and rotator cuff/labrum surgery on my right shoulder in July '13 and February '14; respectively. I can't believe how long it's taking to recover. I've done my physical therapy like I was supposed to do. A few month ago, I started lifting again and doing shoulder workouts. I can't do heavy weights, because my shoulder gets angry and the numbness in my left hand makes me nervous about holding too much weight. Even after working on it for a while, if I shoot more than a 100 rounds or just do holster work or dry firing for more than an hour, I get extremely fatigued. I attended a three day class a few months ago and did really well for a while, but really faltered on the third day.

Recently, I was chosen to go to firearms instructor school for my department and had to shoot a 480 on PPC on Friday to be accepted by the state (it takes a 540 to pass the course, but it's not until November). I shot a 509 on my first attempt. I followed that up with a 478 and deteriorated from there. I went to work on my weak hand shooting at the 50 yard barricade and could not get a single round on the paper. I was just shaking too much.

I've been doing shoulder work, but it's obviously not helping. Any advice?

I guess the primary thing would be doing your PT still so that you recover, but I remember reading about some lady that would hold her milk jug up shoulder height in front of her each morning while eating breakfast. Perhaps doing static endurance type work would help. Full disclosure - I'm a noob at shooting and not a PT/doctor, so I may be totally off base here....

How much stretching are you doing?

I'm only doing the stretching they taught me in physical training. Could you elaborate?

Quote Originally Posted by Warren Wilson View Post