Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Help Needed to address a flinching issue

Help Needed to address a flinching issue

I work as a Firearms Instructor for a Federal Agency. I am having an issue with one of my Agents "flinching" or pre-ignition movement of the weapon in anticipation of felt recoil. We have had him shooting twice on the range this past week, two qualification attempts each time and remedial training sessions in between. He has failed to pass either time. This is largely due to his "flinching". He may have other issues regarding sight alignment, sight picture, etc., but until we can get this "flinching" under control, it's hard to say what other issues he may have. In working with him, we identified this issue early on, both through observation of him shooting and impacts on target. We confirmed this through the use of ball and dummy drills which also acted to clearly identify this issue to him. I have had plenty of cases like this in the past. Routinely, a few magazines of ball and dummy drills and persistent verbal re-enforcement to manipulate the trigger without disrupting point of aim is sufficient to "cure" this to the point that the Agents can pass the qualification course. At times, I have had to work through several magazines loaded with nothing but dummy rounds, but the Agent usually can self-teach themselves enough to be able to pass in a relatively short amount of time.

Now, Let me be clear. I know that consistent dry fire practice over the course of time, weeks and months, not hours, is the only true way to correct this "flinching". And that's on the Agent to do this to advance his skill sets as a shooter. This isn't the hand that I have been dealt, however. I have a limited amount of time, a limited amount of resources with which to work through this issue and get this Agent back working on the line. Due to lack of manpower currently, being able to pull this agent for extended remedial training isn't really an option.