Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: How dangerous are squibs?

How dangerous are squibs?

Hi,

I’m currently looking at getting involved in shooting. Considering I have very little knowledge about handguns I was looking for some advise. I have been warned about the possibility of squibs. I was wondering:

• How dangerous are squibs? I understand they can wreck your gun, but do people lose fingers, hands, eyes, or their life from them if you accidentally fired another round after, or would that push the first round out and just swell the barrel?

• Are squibs less dangerous with automatics? (ie: if there’s not enough power to push the projectile out, does that usually mean there’s not enough power to push a slide back so an accidental shoot after one is less likely with an automatic?)

• Are there any good ways to know the load is correct? (Can you weigh bullets, to see if any are missing powder, etc)?

• How obvious are they / easy to tell and 'pull up' before firing the next round with rapid firing competitions.

• Has anyone witnessed a shot after a squb, and if so what was the outcome?

• Are their any techniques that can be used to reduce the possibility? (ie, weighing bullets before loading to see if they have the right amount of powder, etc), or is the powder weight that small compared to everything else that it may not be detectable?

I don't want to get paranoid about this, but I do want to know what the possibilities are especially when it comes to injuries.

Thanks for any advice in advance...

- Ad

Modding this sack of shit BehindBlueI's's Avatar
    Buy or load quality ammo. Odds of a squib are somewhere in Powerball territory. It happens to someone, but it probably won't be you.

Wear eye protection. A gun can come apart, and for reasons other than a squib being stuck in the barrel and you firing again.