Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Shotgun questions. Mossberg 590A1 VS 930?

Shotgun questions. Mossberg 590A1 VS 930?

Primary usage will be as a HD gun due to moving to AR unfriendly places. From what I've gathered on the latest generation of 870's I'm better off going with Mossberg. I'm fairly new to the shotgun but plan on taking several classes this year and really getting to know it as my primary HD long gun.

I'm looking at the Magpul 590A1 pump with 18.5" barrel for $580 VS 930 Tactical semi-auto $534 new.

Also found a used 930 SPX for $620 (new $689 + tax +$25 background). He claims to have only 10 rounds of 00 through it but I'm not a shotgun inspection expert.

Pros & cons for semi VS pump in this role? Does the 930 have a good reputation for a semi? I'm open to other suggestions in the same price range but don't want to drop $1k right now.

I prefer a semi, but you can learn to run the pump nearly as fast on single targets, and transitioning between targets it doesn't really make a difference. In a home defense role it won't really matter, although you're guaranteed cycling with the pump if you work it properly. Semi's can be finicky about ammo.

One thing to be aware of is that you can get that 590 down to the proper 12-13" LOP. The 930 you're pretty much stuck with the longer LOP unless you want to put in the work to try and shorten the factory stock, or spend extra $$ on a Mesa Urbino.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    "I want to see someone running down the street with a sims-gun shrieking 'I am the first revelation' " - SouthNarc

Oh also... summit gunbrokers has a bunch of 870p and wing master agency trade in's inbound... 325 for the P's and 175 for a wingmaster if I recall correctly

Might be something to consider.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    "I want to see someone running down the street with a sims-gun shrieking 'I am the first revelation' " - SouthNarc

Quote Originally Posted by SamuelBLong View Post