Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: How do you do your emergency/slide lock reloads?

How do you do your emergency/slide lock reloads?

As a police officer I've always been trained to do the "workspace" reload: gun is angled/pointed at approximately 10 or 11 oclock, slightly in front of your head with palm facing in towards your face. I recently started IDPA and the ROs don't like the muzzle breaking 90 degrees/barrel higher than parallel to the ground, so now I'm having to retrain years of muscle memory for the game. Now I bring the gun in close and simply tilt it slightly, keeping the barrel parallel to the ground.

What's the general consesnus for emergency reload procedures?

How do you do your emergency/slide lock reloads?

Similar workspace reload. I wouldn't retrain myself to satisfy some Fuddy Duddy RO, though, especially if it might cause you to flub a reload when it really counts.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Site Supporter
    My reload is like the one you were trained to use. I find that it allows for a better view of what's happening down range as compared to the other technique you mentioned.

Quote Originally Posted by FredM View Post
    Similar workspace reload. I wouldn't retrain myself to satisfy some Fuddy Duddy RO, though.

That's the problem, though... I wanna play the game! Do you think this is just specific to this particular club?

Quote Originally Posted by Le Français View Post
    My reload is like the one you described. I find that it allows for a better view of what's happening down range as compared to the other technique you mentioned.
    I'm assuming the reload you do is like the second one, not the "workspace" reload?

Site Supporter
    Quote Originally Posted by Danny View Post
    That's the problem, though... I wanna play the game! Do you think this is just specific to this particular club?
    You could shoot USPSA instead. No issues with reloads there, in my experience.