Page 1 of 18 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Junk Carry Pillow (AIWB cushion)

Junk Carry Pillow (AIWB cushion)

Dear fellow AIWB (aka "junk") carriers,

I have finally put together some illustrated instructions for my Junk Carry Pillow (JCP), as seen in the JMCK thread and elsewhere. A few notes before I get into the details: 1) I use this device to cushion my AIWB holsters, which are carried at 12:30, and ride between junk and thigh (not over the leg at 1:00). 2) Comfort is one reason I use a cushion, but it also ensures that the muzzle is pointed away from my body. I'll leave it up to you to decide if this device might be a good idea for you; if you shoot your dick off it's not my fault. 3) I am not very good at sewing, and won't make one of these for anyone so don't ask.

Components:
    Multicam NyCo ripstop fabric

Hook velcro (use two long strips side by side for more flexibility to conform to holster).

Sticky loop velcro

Instructions:
    Cut enough sticky velcro to cover lower inside of holster. Round off corners with scissors. Clean holster twice with rubbing alcohol, and heat gently with a hair dryer. Then apply sticky velcro, making sure to cover the part that rubs on your inner thigh.

Cut cloth into a 12" x 4" strip (or 12 x 3 if you want a narrower pillow).

Sew on two strips of hook velcro making sure total width is no greater than your loop strip on the holster. Note in the pictures below how the velcro goes on one side of the strip, but leaves room for the wide "bellows" described below. The gap between the hook velcro makes the pillow conform to the holster better than one big strip.

Bonus for cutting the thread with your Ban Tang Clinch Pick.

Now, work on the inside of the cloth.

Sew off top edges to prevent unravelling.

Fold cloth in half, and make a "bellows" at the bottom.

Sew the four edges of the bellows at 45 degrees.

Sew the sides of the cloth to make a pocket with the bellows at the end. Stop at the bellows. Don't sew into it.