Page 1 of 11 123 ... LastLast

Thread: War on Drugs

Site Supporter

War on Drugs

The War on Drugs has been raging for decades now, and it seems we are making little, if any, progress in the proper direction. No matter how much we fight them, I still see an endless stream of people with them.

I have been a cop for almost 8 years, and spent over a year as a full time investigator for a criminal defense attorney. I am no super cop, have not worked in a major city, or fought the border war. However what I have seen is a broken, ineffective system, which does not deter drug offenses or even effectively punish or treat them.
    To me it seems that the following would be a good solution.

1. Legalize all drugs.
    2. Regulate them at a small level if at all.
    3. End all federal contributions to welfare.
    4. Heavy drug testing for those using state and local welfare.
    5. Less laws, less complicated laws, but tougher punishment for those convicted. With the possible exception of DWI laws.
    6. Make prison a place where the environment is about truly reforming the people the best we can.
    7. Save the tax payers billions by reducing the number of people in jail and the money spent through various agencies and grants.

I am no libertarian utopian and I know there is no free lunch. There are many people here with more experience than me in this area and I would like your thoughts on the issue. As well as anyone else who has opinions on it. I need to see the holes in my theory.

My short answer is because the drug trade is about a lot more than the end user. The financial cost is a small part of the equation. It's easy to say that drugs could be legalized and regulated by the government. Instant crime reduction, instant revenue increases for various governments. But what players would profit from this? What countries and foreign organizations profit from this?