Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: My first IDPA match

  1. #1

    My first IDPA match

    Shot my first official competition the other week and I thought I'd share my thoughts and experience.

    Background: I've owned a gun for about 10 years, but didn't take my first shooting class until October of '12. I've taken a bunch since then.

    I kinda knew the rules going into the match. I had met the club president in a Vickers class so he got me to skip their 1 day safety class that the club normally requires for shooting action pistol (hallelujah).

    I finished 34th out of 44 shooters, and 5th out of 8 in CDP. Why did I suck so bad?

    I probably took too long trying to get 0s. I don't know why they are so loose with the down points for crappy shooting. I think it should be 1 second per point down.

    I got 2 procedurals for shooting out of "tactical priority". I go around a corner and see 3 targets, I shoot the one closest to me. No, I'm supposed to "pie the corner" (under time?) and shoot the target I see first. Okay.

    I didn't do a flat footed reload once, but since it was my first match they let it slide. I don't really get that one. An SSP Master explained to me that it wouldn't make sense to advance with an empty gun. Okay.

    So it was a lot of fun regardless. I've heard that it greatly depends on the club, and the guys running this one weren't too anal which probably greatly contributed to the experience being positive. Will go again. I brought two buddies and they had the same thoughts on the goofy rules. I signed up to a local club and I'm attending their USPSA orientation next month; we'll see which one I like better. I can see myself just shooting both.

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Good for you trying it out. As far as the rules go - you can't pick up your ball and throw it out of the sand trap either, although it is clearly the superior method.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Western Ohio
    The flat footed reload rule is about the most stupid thing I have ever heard.....but whatever.

  4. #4
    Site Supporter
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Off Camber
    If I don't renew my membership, will I have to do the classifier again if I choose to renew it in the future?

  5. #5
    Quote Originally Posted by JV View Post
    If I don't renew my membership, will I have to do the classifier again if I choose to renew it in the future?
    Maybe.

    9.2. Classification Frequency

    9.2.1. Every IDPA member must shoot the Classifier at least once every twelve months, except Master and Distinguished Master class shooters. However, a Match Performance Promotion in a Division counts as shooting the IDPA Classifier in that Division.
    9.2.2. Should a Match Director feel that a shooter should be shooting in a higher Classification level, the MD may require that the shooter shoot the Classifier again to reestablish a current Classification.
    9.2.3. Every shooter in a Sanctioned Match must be classified per 9.2.1. within the previous twelve months (365 days/366 days on Leap years,) in the Division in which they are entered. The Match Director or designee must confirm that the IDPA membership card and Classification in the database are current on match day for every entry in a Sanctioned Match.
    9.2.4. For local matches it is sufficient to shoot a Classifier in the Division most often entered. A shooter may compete in club matches in a Division where a Classification is not current within twelve months or the shooter is Unclassified, where the highest Classification presently held in any division will be used.
    9.2.5. Shooters may not go down in Classification except for permanent physical disability or for other irrevocable reasons. IDPA HQ will determine when this is appropriate and make the necessary adjustments to the Classification Database.

    <http://members.idpa.com/Content/Rules/g0hunysc.eoc.pdf>

  6. #6
    Site Supporter
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Seminole Texas
    Quote Originally Posted by HopetonBrown View Post

    I finished 34th out of 44 shooters, and 5th out of 8 in CDP. Why did I suck so bad?

    .
    Because it was your first time.

  7. #7
    Member cclaxton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Vienna, Va
    Quote Originally Posted by JV View Post
    If I don't renew my membership, will I have to do the classifier again if I choose to renew it in the future?
    If you are already Master or Distinguished Master, then it is not required regardless of your membership status. But membership and the classifier are not linked. If your last classifier was Jan 2014 and your membership expires in March 2014, and if you let it expire, when you renew your membership later, before Jan 2015 your classification would still stand. Local clubs vary on their policy on whether they would let you shoot without a membership. Some don't check. AAFG will require a current IDPA membership (except for a new shooter), but will let you shoot beyond your classifier expiration for some time. Also, if a club lets you shoot AIWB not for score, then I would assume no IDPA membership or classifier is required (as long as you pay the event fee).
    Cody
    That a well-regulated militia, composed of the body of the people, trained to arms, is the proper, natural, and safe defense of a free state;

  8. #8
    Quote Originally Posted by JV View Post
    If I don't renew my membership, will I have to do the classifier again if I choose to renew it in the future?
    As long as it's within the calendar year of your last classification, your previous classification is good. If exceeds a year, they may assign a new IDPA number and once that occurs, you are zeroed out. I guess it all depends upon the length of the lapse.

  9. #9
    Site Supporter
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Off Camber
    FWIW: I'm an M in SSP.

    Quote Originally Posted by gtmtnbiker98 View Post
    If exceeds a year, they may assign a new IDPA number and once that occurs, you are zeroed out. I guess it all depends upon the length of the lapse.
    Interesting point. Thanks.

  10. #10
    Site Supporter
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Off Camber
    Quote Originally Posted by cclaxton View Post
    If you are already Master or Distinguished Master, then it is not required regardless of your membership status.
    What about the new number issue that was mentioned?

User Tag List

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •