Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Sig 226 questions

Sig 226 questions

I've been carrying a P30 v4 LEM exclusively for a few years now but have an itch to try out a DA/SA gun to see how I perform with it vs. the P30.

I'm thinking about going with a P226 because of magazine & holster availability, parts availability, and because the triggers seem to be pretty good right out of the box. Any P226 I get will have an SRT and a set of Heinies added to it, but beyond that I'm really not sure what exact model to get.

So for the sig guys out there I have a few questions.

1) Should I get a new one or an older W. German gun? Is there any real difference reliability wise between the German produced guns and the US produced guns?

2) Is the extra corrosion resistant coating you get with the MK25 worth the premium you tend to pay for these guns? If you're worried about corrosion would it be better to get one of the stainless models instead?

3) What about holster availability for the railed vs. non railed guns?

4) What spare parts would you keep around?

5) What parts are most prone to breakage?

Thanks.
    Last edited by HCL3; 11-11-2013 at 03:09 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by HCL3 View Post
    I've been carrying a P30 v4 LEM exclusively for a few years now but have an itch to try out a DA/SA gun to see how I perform with it vs. the P30.

I'm thinking about going with a P226 because of magazine & holster availability, parts availability, and because the triggers seem to be pretty good right out of the box. Any P226 I get will have an SRT and a set of Heinies added to it, but beyond that I'm really not sure what exact model to get.

So for the sig guys out there I have a few questions.

1) Should I get a new one or an older W. German gun? Is there any real difference reliability wise between the German produced guns and the US produced guns?

2) Is the extra corrosion resistant coating you get with the MK25 worth the premium you tend to pay for these guns?

Thanks.