PDA

View Full Version : JM Custom AIWB Thickness Compared to other holsters, C&D PIC, CCC Shaggy

AtomicToaster
10-11-2013, 03:58 PM
I've been running a JM Custom AIWB holster for my G19 for a few months now. It's an excellent holster in many ways, but I'm not crazy about how much thickness it adds at the belt line - it practically doubles the width of the gun at that point, causing problems with concealability on my particular body type. I understand that this is for the sake of grip/butt tuck, but I wonder how other AIWB kydex holsters compare in thickness at that point.

The Shaggy is the one I'm most curious about, since it seems to be the go-to holster for many at this forum. Is it appreciably thinner than the JM at the belt line?

Another one that looks promising is the Cane & Derby PIC - judging by the pictures on their website, it uses the belt loops to 'pull' the grip of the gun inward rather than using a wedge to 'push' it. However, I don't see that holster getting mentioned often by p-f.com AIWBers, so any input from those who have used this holster is greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

texasaggie2005
10-11-2013, 10:20 PM
My G19 Shaggy is "thinner" than my JM Custom, by a noticeable amount, maybe a 1/4" - 3/8" or so. But the extra tuck option partially compensates for the extra thickness.

AtomicToaster
10-14-2013, 12:10 AM
My G19 Shaggy is "thinner" than my JM Custom, by a noticeable amount, maybe a 1/4" - 3/8" or so. But the extra tuck option partially compensates for the extra thickness.

Thanks for the info! Which of the two do you prefer, concealment-wise?

texasaggie2005
10-14-2013, 07:58 AM
Thanks for the info! Which of the two do you prefer, concealment-wise?

I "feel" that my Shaggy is more comfortable, and conceals slightly better. However, I wish it had the extra-tuck option like the JM. In my opinion, that would make for the perfect AIWB for me.

Tony Mayer
10-14-2013, 11:34 AM