PDA

View Full Version : Seeking some advice on "concealability"

Chefdog
05-24-2011, 10:47 AM
First a little background:
I have been a pistol shooter for years but I'm brand new to concealed carry and need some advice. I've done lots of reading here and value the opinions and experience that a lot of you have. I understand that there are a lot of personal issues involved in choosing carry equipment and methods, but hope that i can shorten my learning curve with a little educated guidance.

I've decided to try AIWB with a G19 and ordered a CCC Shaggy based on the loads of positive reviews and recommendations. The benefits of AIWB seem to outweigh the negatives for me, although time will tell. I have the ability to dress as needed to hide my gun, but there will be those times when absolute discretion is a must, and this leads to my question.

Will a slightly smaller gun like a Kahr CW9 (whether carried AIWB or not) give any measurable improvement in concealability over a G19? Or is a truly small (PM9) gun, or different mode of carry, the best bet for those times? FWIW, I'm a pretty normal sized guy, 5'9" and 170#.

Any thoughts,experiences or suggestions will be greatly appreciated.

orionz06
05-24-2011, 11:08 AM
What holster and gun combos have you tried already? I would think that you should be able to conceal a G19 with easy at pretty much any location given the proper attire.

Chefdog
05-24-2011, 11:24 AM
What holster and gun combos have you tried already? I would think that you should be able to conceal a G19 with easy at pretty much any location given the proper attire.

The Shaggy + G19 will be my first foray into concealed carry. I want to carry the g19 as much as possible which is why I have high hopes for AIWB. I guess I was looking for any input as to whether or not a marginal size difference (like between g19 and cw9) translates into practical differences in hiding a gun?

Thanks for the reply.

ToddG
05-24-2011, 11:27 AM