PDA

View Full Version : What size riser, if any, for RDS?

dustyvarmint
08-22-2013, 11:30 AM
I'm a total AR NOOB so, pls take that into account :).

I have a flat top AR with BUIS only. My overall goal is to shoot as best I can with irons.

However, I'm taking a basic defensive rifle course in late October and the instructor highly recommends an RDS.

I have an RDS for another non-AR rifle, but how do I know what size, if any, riser I need for the AR?

thanks and happy shooting, dv

themonk
08-22-2013, 12:24 PM
Check out this video explaining CoWitness, both absolute and lower 1/3rd - http://youtu.be/ogX-cIx9hpk. Then decide which of those two option you would prefer and let us know what type of RDS do you have. From there we can point you in the right direction of what mount to get.

dustyvarmint
08-22-2013, 07:10 PM
Check out this video explaining CoWitness, both absolute and lower 1/3rd - http://youtu.be/ogX-cIx9hpk. Then decide which of those two option you would prefer and let us know what type of RDS do you have. From there we can point you in the right direction of what mount to get.

That is very helpful. I think I'd prefer an absolute CoWitness. I have a cheap UTG RDS (when considering the quality of this item, please keep in mind my goal is to use irons and I don't have much intent at this point to use an RDS for anything other than this class).

happy shooting, dv

LOKNLOD
08-22-2013, 07:41 PM
That is very helpful. I think I'd prefer an absolute CoWitness. I have a cheap UTG RDS (when considering the quality of this item, please keep in mind my goal is to use irons and I don't have much intent at this point to use an RDS for anything other than this class).

happy shooting, dv