PDA

View Full Version : How to start?

teamshrink
05-13-2011, 08:06 PM
OK, I came to shooting late in life. I think it'd be fun to compete, but I have no idea where to start. How do you break into target shooting?

TS

LittleLebowski
05-13-2011, 09:36 PM
What competitions and training are available in your area?

JodyH
05-13-2011, 10:06 PM
Show up at a match.
I always recommend people watch a match to get the general idea of what's going on and what gear is required then come out and enter the next match.
Also, don't be shy about telling the match director and range officer that you're a new competitor.
As a RO, I go out of my way to help new competitors feel relaxed and make sure they stay safe and have fun. I'll also cut you some slack on the competition rules and give you a little coaching during the stage if you get stuck or have a brain fart.
Rule #1 is be safe.
Rule #2 is have fun.
Now get yourself out to a match!

backtrail540
05-14-2011, 04:54 PM
I just started shooting USPSA this year so I was in your same boat. Basically, I just looked up what I needed online(dual mag pouch, decent holster, and mags along with proper eyes and ears) and showed up to the match.

My local club does not squad, and you can do a random start in an hour timeframe. I informed the RO at each stage I was new and they were all very helpful and made me feel welcome. I focused primarily on getting my hits and didn't rush myself at all. I was happy to say I didn't come in last(though not a major concern at all) and I now only have 2 matches under my belt but will most definitely not be quitting anytime soon. Go out and enjoy yourself.

DonovanM
05-15-2011, 10:05 PM