PDA

View Full Version : Class Review: GPSTC Semi-Auto 3

jlw
07-18-2013, 10:28 PM
Semi-Automatic Pistol 3

This week I attended the Semi-Automatic Pistol 3 course taught at the Georgia Public Safety Training Center. This a 32-hour reactive shooting course based upon the Rogers Shooting School courses. The instructor that developed the course is a Rogers graduate, and coincidentally is retired from the training center, now works for a Sheriff’s Office, and was in the class as a student as was another Rogers graduate. Both said that this course and the Rogers course are very similar but that Rogers is faster.

Layout

I was not able to get picture or video of the range facility. POST rules are that tests cannot be recorded, and as I was a student in the class, recording how the system works would have been recording the test. The range is set up with four shooting booths. Arrayed in front of each booth are six targets. Targets 1, 2, 5, and 6 are steel silhouettes with pneumatic heads that can be raised and lowered. They are on hinges so that they fall over when hit. Target 1 is at seven yards and directly in front of the shooter. Target 2 is set up so that it can also simulate a hostage shot. It is to the right of target 1 and is about 10 yards from the shooter. Targets 4 and 5 are full silhouettes that lean out of either side of a wall. They are about 10 yards from the shooter and to the extreme left of the shooting lane. Target 5 is at 12 yards and to the left of target 1 but to the right of targets 4 and 5, and target 6 is at 15 yards on a line placing it between targets 1 and 5.