PDA

View Full Version : Cleaning Nylon Duty Gear

TheNewbie
07-03-2013, 06:48 AM
Do any of you have any experience or advice for cleaning nylon duty belts and gear?

I have been wearing the same duty belt and gear for a few years now and it is in desperate need of a cleaning. I tired scrubbing with soap and water but it had almost no effect.

It may just be time to buy a new set up but I tend to hold onto things for as long as they will last.

Thanks

orionz06
07-03-2013, 07:51 AM
I have cleaned outdoor gear that had some nasty funk on it with diluted Simple Green and jr worked very well.

jlw
07-03-2013, 07:55 AM
Warm water and a rag will do the job. Add some detergent if needed.

JDM
07-03-2013, 08:07 AM
If you have access to an air compressor, blowing the dust and grime off before you wash it also makes a huge difference.

Crawls
07-03-2013, 09:03 AM
Simple Green!

41magfan
07-03-2013, 09:42 AM
I’ve found the best way to maintain nylon gear of all types is to keep it clean from the get-go with regular cleaning with a soft brush and mild detergent. Dirt tends to act like an abrasive and causes excess wear and tear. It’s also best to let your gear dry out of direct sunlight if possible.

ST911
07-03-2013, 09:56 AM
I've used a brush with Simple Green or Dawn. Pressure wash can help, but do so limitedly and only with quality gear.

Chuck Haggard
07-03-2013, 10:57 AM
I strip off everything that can rust and submerge the whole mess in the bath tub, soap and a small fingernail type scrub brush from there.

This worked well on my old TA50/Alice gear, also works on my nylon duty gear.

Anti bacterial soap if I need to deal with blood exposure.

JM Campbell
07-03-2013, 01:00 PM
Steamer works wonders and can be used for many other things.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I537 using Tapatalk 2

BobLoblaw
07-03-2013, 05:12 PM