PDA

View Full Version : Cleaning the Barrel of an AR/.223., Lubrication

cclaxton
05-27-2013, 08:39 PM
I am fairly new to cleaning and maintaining an AR.

1) Cleaning the Barrel: How often?, Manual says to put rod in from muzzle end, then attach brush and pull it through, then repeat. Can I just push the brush in from the muzzle end and push all the way out, then pull all the way out? Or do I really need to worry about damaging it?

2) Where to put oil?, Where to put grease? Where to leave it dry?

Thanks,
CC

orionz06
05-27-2013, 08:42 PM
What gun/barrel is it? If it is chrome lined you may not need to do anything.

Kyle Reese
05-27-2013, 08:53 PM
For my chrome lined barrels, I just run a bore snake through the bore a few times, clean the chamber area with q-tips, and call it a day.

In terms of lubrication, generally speaking, the Stoner system will run dirty, as long as it's run wet. My AR's are lubricated with Frog Lube, and I apply it generously (sopping wet) to the bolt, the outside of the carrier, and a little on the hammer. Look for wear/contact areas and lubricate accordingly. Many people tend to under lubricate their AR's, so don't do that. :)

I spend more time shooting my guns than cleaning them, and stopped caring if they could pass a white glove inspection when I left the Army.

Jay Cunningham
05-27-2013, 09:02 PM
Lube the entire front half of the bolt carrier group.

GTG

Everything else is optional.

Josh Runkle
05-27-2013, 09:02 PM
You should be careful inserting things from the muzzle end, so as not to damage the crown of the barrel. I personally just run a bore snake through the barrel (breech to bore) and spend next to zero time on that, whereas I spend a lot of time cleaning the insides of the upper, guts of the lower, function check the lower, check for loose screws anywhere, and then spend a lot of time on the bolt.