PDA

View Full Version : P30 .40 cal. Durability?

UpDok
05-01-2011, 08:19 AM
The P30 is certainly a sweet pistol.

I made the mistake of handling one at the local gunstore and now I'd like to purchase a P30 in the (hopefully) not to distant future. I'm considering getting one in .40S&W. The 9mm has certainly been well proven by Todd's test but I think I'd like to get one in the larger 40 cal.

The .40 S&W is a different cartridge than the 9mm and it has more recoil. Does the P30 in .40 cal hold up well or is the 9 a better choice for the P30?

JM Campbell
05-01-2011, 09:46 AM
I have no first hand experience on the 40, but you can rest assured with the same internals in use on the P2000 you have absolutely nothing to worry about. I have the P30 in 9mm.

GJM
05-01-2011, 09:51 AM
Better can be answered or defined many ways, depending upon what you are trying to accomplish.

I have had a number of P2000 and P30 pistols in .40 over the years, with round counts of 1,000 to between 5,000 and 10,000 rounds on each pistol, and have yet to experience a stoppage or breakage. Speaking with CBP folks, their P2000's seem to be holding up, even with that 155 grain hot load that was being used. I do shoot my P30's in 9 more than in .40.

TCinVA
05-01-2011, 10:50 AM
The P30 is a tank. Even in a larger caliber you can reasonably expect the weapon to be durable to the point that the cost of the ammo you run through it is many times greater than the cost of the weapon.