PDA

View Full Version : Entry Point Hardening

NMBigfoot02
05-24-2013, 10:50 AM
I'm not sure if this has been discussed before(I tried searching, but no luck), but does anyone have any resources or guides regarding entry point hardening(door jamb reinforcement, etc.)? Looking for a soup-to-nuts type deal with maybe some recommendations on what works and what doesn't.

Mods, if this is in the wrong sub-forum, please relocate as appropriate.

mnealtx
05-24-2013, 08:42 PM
I'm not sure if this has been discussed before(I tried searching, but no luck), but does anyone have any resources or guides regarding entry point hardening(door jamb reinforcement, etc.)? Looking for a soup-to-nuts type deal with maybe some recommendations on what works and what doesn't.

I'm by no means an expert, but I've seen some stuff recommended on other sites...

Door jamb armo (http://armorconcepts.com/our-solutions/door-jamb-armor/#all/1/list)r reinforces the most vulnerable part of the doorway. Add a solid wood or fiberglass door with *good* 3" screws on the hinge side and you're in better shape than probably 95% of folks out there.

Hope that helps, or at least gives you a starting point.

Andy in NH
05-24-2013, 08:56 PM
... *good* 3" screws on the hinge side...

3" screws on the striker plate are also highly recommended.

jlw
05-24-2013, 09:07 PM

I'm by no means an expert, but I've seen some stuff recommended on other sites...

Door jamb armo (http://armorconcepts.com/our-solutions/door-jamb-armor/#all/1/list)r reinforces the most vulnerable part of the doorway. Add a solid wood or fiberglass door with *good* 3" screws on the hinge side and you're in better shape than probably 95% of folks out there.

Hope that helps, or at least gives you a starting point.

I was going to mention Door Jamb Armor.