PDA

View Full Version : Colt 6940

WDW
05-04-2013, 03:01 PM
Picked one of these up the other day. It has a monolithic upper & free float raill w/detachable bottom rail. The newer version has a few changes from the original. Two things I noticed immediately were a locking front sight & the hardened steel insert in the upper to reduce cam pin wear supposedly (a feature on the 6940P). It shoots great & is sub minute of AR.
http://i865.photobucket.com/albums/ab217/10mm4me/image-8_zpsf62731d7.jpg (http://s865.photobucket.com/user/10mm4me/media/image-8_zpsf62731d7.jpg.html)

Odin Bravo One
05-04-2013, 03:34 PM
I've always liked Colt products. While everyone builds an AR variant these days, at least with Colt, you know what you are getting. It may not be the most expensive. And they are arguably no longer "the best" AR, but they are still my gold standard.

Though, I am curious as to the "why" on some of the features you listed........probably why I am not an engineer or decision maker at Colt's Mfg. Still, it is a nice rifle, that is likely to outlast the majority of shooters (even without the steel insert thingamajig), should easily shoot 2 minutes or less with quality ammo, and at (what I hope was) a reasonable cost.

WDW
05-04-2013, 03:48 PM
I've always liked Colt products. While everyone builds an AR variant these days, at least with Colt, you know what you are getting. It may not be the most expensive. And they are arguably no longer "the best" AR, but they are still my gold standard.

Though, I am curious as to the "why" on some of the features you listed........probably why I am not an engineer or decision maker at Colt's Mfg. Still, it is a nice rifle, that is likely to outlast the majority of shooters (even without the steel insert thingamajig), should easily shoot 2 minutes or less with quality ammo, and at (what I hope was) a reasonable cost.