PDA

View Full Version : Something Cool I Just Learned about RDS

WDW
04-29-2013, 04:24 PM
I'm a bit of a noob when it comes to optics, specifically RDS. I do know, thanks in part to this forum, that Aimpoint is more or less the best option for a variety of reasons. So I recently picked up a PRO. What I think is too cool, is that you can use the optic even with the front lens cover closed. I had no idea this was possible so I never even attempted it. I'm not sure of the physiology behind it, but with both eyes open and focus on the target, the red dot is still imposed on it (the target) almost as well as if the cover were open. I discovered this by accident while just looking through the sight and confirmed that it actually works on the range the other day.

I apologize if this is common knowledge and I sound stupid. I'm sure someone else out there doesn't know this. Just thought it was cool you don't HAVE to have your lens cover open to use your sight.

Zhurdan
04-29-2013, 04:36 PM
Some of the first RDS type sights were referred to as Occluded Eye Gunsights
http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_j612DZCPAyE/TDHWiUi5t8I/AAAAAAAAADw/p4KOi7XnOBw/s400/Spoint.jpg

This particular one didn't even have an objective lens.

WDW
04-29-2013, 05:17 PM
Some of the first RDS type sights were referred to as Occluded Eye Gunsights
http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_j612DZCPAyE/TDHWiUi5t8I/AAAAAAAAADw/p4KOi7XnOBw/s400/Spoint.jpg

This particular one didn't even have an objective lens.

Are you saying I can dodge bullets?

Al T.
04-29-2013, 05:17 PM
It's actually a good technique for dealing with "squinters" AKA folks who want to use the RDS in the same manner as a rifle scope. :cool:

ToddG
04-29-2013, 05:19 PM

When you're ready...

... still no.

Zhurdan
04-29-2013, 05:20 PM

No, I'm saying when you're ready, you won't have to. ;)

*beat me to it Todd*

taadski
04-29-2013, 05:41 PM