PDA

View Full Version : Hammer Fired Options?

Captain
03-10-2013, 07:55 PM
I recently started carrying my M&P9 AIWB and love it - I wasn't sure I'd be comfortable with it at all given my weight, but I really like carrying there. Way, way back in the day I carried a 1911, but other than that I have no experience with hammer fired guns.

I was thinking of (attempting) to trade my M&P9 for something hammer fired, to add that 2nd layer of protection as I transition to AIWB full time, but I don't really know what the options are. I want to stay 9mm and I want something known for reliability.

I was looking at Sig and HK, but it seems like modern Sigs are not quite up to their previous W.German standards... So, what are my options for a modern, preferably polymer (I do not miss the weight of the 1911), reliable (for carry), 9mm hammer-fired guns? Is it primarily HK?

Thanks for the help.

ToddG
03-10-2013, 07:58 PM
HK would certainly be my first choice, but I'm a fanboi.

Plenty of people around here (the forum) have had good success with SIGs lately. I still put it in the "roll the dice" category but from a design and shootability standpoint, they're excellent guns.

You might also consider simply converting your M&P9 to the thumb model variant. Then holstering AIWB has the same benefit of a gun like the 1911. As you're already practiced with a 1911, the transition back to the thumb safety operation should be pretty easy. This solution has the benefit of using your existing mags, pouches, and other accessories as well as most (?) holsters.

Captain
03-10-2013, 08:02 PM
That's a good point about the thumb safety - but I was under the impression that if my pistol was bought without one that it couldn't be converted to use one... is this not true?

nwhpfan
03-10-2013, 09:13 PM
That's a good point about the thumb safety - but I was under the impression that if my pistol was bought without one that it couldn't be converted to use one... is this not true?