PDA

View Full Version : suggested drills to use at a police dept.

Ring
02-26-2013, 10:56 AM
1st post :)
im a precision rifle instructor, but have been asked to do pistol training for the PD.
i have been tasked with helping to come up with some better training drills to get the PD to be more proficient...

in the past, they only shot 2 times a year :rolleyes:

now its 4 times.. :rolleyes:

my goal is once or twice a month...

im going to start them off with ball&dummy and work up.. shoot and move, barricades..

looking for suggestions

i was doing IPSC in the 90's, and IDPA since 2000 i think...

butler coach
02-26-2013, 12:11 PM
i know nothing, but i would check out the drill of the week post. lots of good stuff there buy people who know what the hell they are doing

Al T.
02-26-2013, 12:17 PM
Ring, I have a .pdf file of drills that might help. PM me your email address and I'll send'em. It's a larger file BTW.

ST911
02-26-2013, 01:03 PM
I've pulled a number of the drills listed here in DOTW and at the PT site for use. There are all sorts of others out there as well, and you're only limited by your own creativity beyond that.

I encouraged my troops to stop in here and do DOTW. I even offered to provide some the ammo to shoot them if they'll commit to doing it every week. No takers. :(

One thing that did create some interest is to shoot qualification tests/COFs from other agencies, especially the noteworthy agency/Qs (LAPD SWAT A/B, FAM TPC, etc). Some of the more ego-driven like being able to say "I shoot as well as...". When they don't, they have an idea of what skill area in the COF they need to work on, and may work toward that. Whatever the motivation, at least they're shooting.

ToddG
02-27-2013, 11:12 AM