PDA

View Full Version : Shotgun specific skill builder drills

shootist26
02-23-2013, 05:58 PM
I have been shooting the piss out of my 870 this past month. I am new to shotguns, and most of my shotgun shooting has been on my range's 10yd line against a plate rack. I brought my timer out today and did some measuring. Split time between shots (8" plates @ 10yds, all hits) is ~0.6 seconds. My combat load time (shot, combat load, shot) is ~3 seconds. Not too good I am sure, but this is my starting point.

In the meantime, what are your favorite shotgun skill builder drills? I have a class coming up this spring.

Also, some general questions:
- when combat loading and topping off the mag tube, do you keep the shotgun firmly shouldered or do you roll it into a "tuck" position (tucked underneath armpit, still in strong hand, pointed towards target)?
- when combat loading, do you go over or under the receiver?

JAD
02-23-2013, 06:35 PM
- when combat loading and topping off the mag tube, do you keep the shotgun shouldered or do you roll it into a "tuck" position?

When reloading any firearm I keep it more or less on target. With the shotgun I stay at high ready if cover permits. I think it's important to drill the move to cover as part of reloading the shotgun. This often makes keeping the muzzle on target more challenging; reminds me to get well behind cover; and reminds me why I should get off my butt and get a short shotgun. If loading the port from the sidesaddle I go over the gun, rolling it inboard. If reloading from the belt I go under. I have not completely determined whether loading from the port is really worth it. When you factor in the click-rack-ohshitclickrack, not running a shotgun dry seems about as important as not running your pistol dry.

David Armstrong
02-23-2013, 07:25 PM