PDA

View Full Version : AAR: AFHF College Station,TX April 2-3, 2011

NickA
04-16-2011, 08:54 AM
* my first AAR so hope it makes sense*
Prior training: I’ve been shooting handguns recreationally for about 17 years, with a big break over the last 4-5 years (family stuff). Having a child and other events led me to want to become more proficient and prepared. To that end I obtained my CHL, took a 4 hour basic class with a local instructor, 2-Day Basic Handgun with DTI, and started shooting IDPA. To really be on my way to being a “good” shooter I still felt like I needed a solid understanding of fundamental pistol techniques. I’d been following Todd’s site and AFHF seemed like just the ticket.

The Group: We had 8 shooters. 4 were people who carried guns in their daily work, the rest of us were I believe just average citizens, including a 60’s –ish brother and sister. All great people, everyone was motivated and prepared and we didn’t have “that guy.”

Equipment: Two worked from duty rigs with retention, one AIWB, and the rest IWB or OWB concealed. Guns were Glock, one HK and one CZ.
I used a G19 and G17 (both w/ Vickers mag release), Bladetech Nano IWB (normally carry in MTAC but didn’t want to deal with the re-holstering). Ammo was a mix of various 115gr 9mm (WWB, PMC, S&B, AE).

The Class: Some… navigational difficulties by a few of us got the class off to a late start (sorry Todd!) Todd was understandably pissed but only ragged us about it every 5 minutes or so. We started with an excellent lecture on Stance, Grip, Sight Picture and Trigger Press. My “lightbulbs” from the lecture:
●Stance- you not only bring the sights to your eyes, but your eyes to the sights, i.e. as you bend your knees and lean forward your head ends up about where your chest was, shortening the time to acquire your sights.
●Grip- rotate your support hand until the pinky points to the ground, locking that wrist and transferring recoil to your skeleton. I THOUGHT I was doing this but wasn’t.