PDA

View Full Version : Sig P232 .380 not firing on first trigger pull.

ezthumper
02-13-2013, 03:26 PM
Just got back from a gun range lunch, and my buddy was having issues with his Sig P232. He would load the mag, jack a round, de-cock it and then pull the trigger from the double action position and then nothing. Pull the trigger again, and it would fire smoothly through the rest of the magazine.

Back story: He is finding out which ammo type fires well as his carry. Thus he carries the P232 and of course it is de-cocked. He would have to fire from using double action.

Any Ideas?

taadski
02-13-2013, 03:51 PM
I'm no expert on the 232 platform, but...

Is it new? Has he or anyone else tried to lighten the DA via messing with the main (hammer) spring? If it were mine, I'd start looking there and would probably put a factory weight replacement back in and see if that corrects the issue. They're cheap and it's relatively easy (at least on other P series pistols).

t

NEPAKevin
02-14-2013, 12:08 PM
The only thing that I can think of would be if for some reason the slide is out of battery during the first DA pull enough such that the firing pin block is not being disengaged and the hammer fall is pushing it forward so that it is for the second strike. On my 230, the hammer breaks during the DA pull with maybe ten degrees less travel than from SA but that doe not explain why the second strike would be any more effective than the first other than possibly high/hard primer or as taadski already suggested a weak hammer spring. Not sure about the 232 but my 230 has a captured hammer spring.

ezthumper
02-14-2013, 01:09 PM
taadski
I'm no expert on the 232 platform, but...