PDA

View Full Version : Stippling vs. Grip tape

JeffJ
04-12-2011, 09:46 AM
Hi - been lurking since Todd started the Forum and decided to jump on in. I'm pretty new to carrying, been shooting with varying degrees of seriousness for while but would still consider myself a noob.

I've got a Glock 34 that I shoot in IDPA and at the range etc. I'm carrying a G19 in a tuckable AIWB, I'm in a tucked in golf shirt and khakis pretty much everyday - especially at work. The G34 has the Talon grip, grip tape on it and I love it - changed the entire feel of the gun for me. I put the same tape on the G19 and now my shirt grabs it like crazy and causes a bit of printing which probably isn't noticable to anyone but me, but I still worry about it.

My question is - for those of you that have stippled your grips - How does the grip feel compared to tape? and Does the stippling grab onto your clothing the tape does?

This might be a silly/minutia type question but I don't want to take off the tape and go through stippling the thing just to decide that I don't like it - or that it grabs the clothing just as bad.

Thanks

VolGrad
04-12-2011, 09:54 AM
I have two stippled GLOCKs.

Stippling all depends on what pattern/how aggressive you go with it.

If you go with an aggressive pattern then you will be in the same boat as using the grip tape.

If you go less aggressive then you sort of negate the point of stippling in the first place. My two aren't aggressive enough. They are great for carry as you stated .... no snagging on clothing ... but the same could be stated for the OEM texture on GLOCKs (and with no time or $ spent stippling them). I love the feel mine give but think they are almost too slick. The main benefit of the stipple jobs I have is the fact the grip was re-shaped slightly. This I do like. Would I do it again? Maybe. If so, I'd go with a more aggressive pattern for sure.

JeffJ
04-12-2011, 10:14 AM