PDA

View Full Version : AAR: Gunsite 250 January 21-25, 2013

Ray Keith
01-28-2013, 12:56 PM
The 250 has been a bucket list class for me since I started shooting a pistol. The collision of time and money never worked and I went years without going. After making it a priority and putting $ away over time, I finally made it. I have had quite a bit of previous instruction, so I was not going in as a beginner. It was about a 12 hour drive each way, when it was all said and done, a long week.

I used my EDC pistol, a Glock 17 and rotated between 2 IWB holsters and a "range" holster. Class instructions called for 1,000 rounds. I shot approximately 875. I had the general impression of Gunsite "doctrine" and wondered how that would all work out. I don't shoot Weaver-ish, I don't carry a .45 etc.. In the end as I had hoped it didn't matter a bit. The class was 15, 14 men 1 lady. 4 doctors, including 2 surgeons, 3 LEO's. Skill levels ranged from complete beginner to very skilled handgun shooters. There were two shooters (I'm one) who play IDPA. The class started off 1911 heavy and ended up with a balance of tupperware and 1911's. Several 1911's had problems and were at the Gunsmith shop from time to time. One student brought a .45 and ended up with a 9mm. I think several others decided polymer served their purpose better at this point in time and skill rather than the 1911 they brought. The class included folks from Florida, Ohio, Oklahoma, Texas, New Jersey, Arizona, Georgia?, among the ones I knew of.