PDA

View Full Version : Question about dry firing.

Gorris
01-18-2013, 07:37 PM
I was wondering how fast you are suppose to pull the trigger when dry firing? I noticed that when I pull it really slow on my Glock 17 that the sights move but if I pull it faster they don't. Any help would be appreciated.

Up1911Fan
01-18-2013, 09:07 PM
Same as live fire.

taadski
01-19-2013, 04:30 PM
I dry practiced in a slow and deliberate manner with a focus on absolute precision for years and had a lot of success from a pure accuracy standpoint. But, as you'd expect, I saw issues when I picked up the pace live-fire. I had a huge breakthrough in my practical shooting ability when I started training dry at the pace/cadence I expected to perform live.

jon volk
01-19-2013, 04:36 PM
SIRT pistol. Two thumbs up.

Cheap Shot
01-19-2013, 10:23 PM
SIRT pistol. Two thumbs up.

Could you elaborate?

Benefits beyond using real handgun?

Transferable benefits to live fire?

Thanks!

Wendell
01-19-2013, 10:53 PM
Could you elaborate? Benefits beyond using real handgun? Transferable benefits to live fire? Thanks!

Sevigny Train up video for Nationals 2011! (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pLdgMQ2_TSk)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pLdgMQ2_TSk

Jay Cunningham
01-19-2013, 11:00 PM
I was wondering how fast you are suppose to pull the trigger when dry firing? I noticed that when I pull it really slow on my Glock 17 that the sights move but if I pull it faster they don't. Any help would be appreciated.

I like where your head's at!

Don't agonize over the trigger press.

jon volk
01-20-2013, 11:34 AM
Could you elaborate?

Benefits beyond using real handgun?

Transferable benefits to live fire?

Thanks!

http://pistol-training.com/archives/6559

That's a pretty good summary.

If you shoot a glock 17, it's a must have in my opinion. I shoot a round of dot torture every day and work a few target transitions.