PDA

View Full Version : Merging Competition and Training

Bratch
04-08-2011, 11:20 PM
How do you merge competition and training when one is in conflict with the other?

I shot a match with a WHO stage that I had a malfunction in and cleared using a tap-rack-bang off of my leg and belt. The RO complemented me on the clearance and then asked that nobody else do it, he stated that you could use your strong hand to clear if neccessary. Another clash would be seeing/feeling the pistol at slidelock and not reloading. I understand the 180 on the WHO and if the range is cold not reloading only to unload at the end of a stage but these are both counter to what I train for.

Is the cure for this as simple as going to the range after a match and working on whatever skills you were unable to complete how you would prefer at the match; I.E. WHO malfunction clearances?

jlw
04-09-2011, 12:37 AM
I started shooting competitively on a regular basis about six months ago, and I have seen some similar things to what you describe at various matches.

I think such instances stem from people whose only exposure to firearms is through the competitive world and have little to no quality firearms and/or tactics training. Consider that if your only exposure to tactics was IDPA how little you would fair in a gunfight. You might as well be watching an action movie for tactics training.

I draw a distinction between firearms and tactics training. A person can be quite skillful with a firearm but have absolutely no actual tactical knowledge to impart. Even people with tactical knowledge may be teaching tactics that are not relevant to the student's world.

ToddG
04-09-2011, 07:25 AM
To quote an old friend, former SEAL, and serious paintball competitor: If you cannot separate competition from fighting, you probably shouldn't do either.

VolGrad
04-09-2011, 08:41 AM