PDA

View Full Version : Visible Laser Questions

JDM
01-08-2013, 02:57 PM
I am intrigued by the idea of a small visible laser on my carbine. Something like this:

http://www.crimsontrace.com/products/type/rail-master/01-3460

I have zero experience with visible lasers on rifles, and I'm not sure they are a useful thing. Curious to hear people's experiences, and the pros and cons.

Sparks2112
01-08-2013, 04:32 PM
I am intrigued by the idea of a small visible laser on my carbine. Something like this:

http://www.crimsontrace.com/products/type/rail-master/01-3460

I have zero experience with visible lasers on rifles, and I'm not sure they are a useful thing. Curious to hear people's experiences, and the pros and cons.

The IR ones sure work good with NVGs. ;) I've no experience with visible ones. Maybe Sean will chime in.

orionz06
01-08-2013, 05:11 PM
If you want to borrow a red version let me know.

TCinVA
01-09-2013, 08:42 AM
Cliff's notes version of my 2 cents:

Visible lasers on carbines can certainly be useful. They're most useful if you can't get a decent cheek weld. Those who can't typically are stuck using equipment like HAZMAT gear in concert with the rifle. Being stuck with a fixed stock and/or a long barrel also tends to contribute to a requirement to get the gun into funny positions to make some shots in tight locations.

If you have a good reflex style optic on the rifle already, the visible laser isn't likely to give you much, in my opinion. If you've got irons and you intend to use the rifle mainly as a close-range home defense weapon, the laser has some utility. A reflex optic would serve you better, but they can be more expensive than lasers.

JMS
01-09-2013, 10:46 AM