PDA

View Full Version : Ask the Experts: Shaky Hands

Nick107
04-08-2011, 11:29 AM
I’ve been looking to ask this question for some time, and with the wealth of information on this forum I hope this can lead to a good discussion.

I was diagnosed at an early age with Essential Tremors...
http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/essential-tremor/DS00367 It’s not a life threatening disease, but I knew early in life, I would never make a good surgeon. There are obviously things I control that have helped to ease my shaky hands (no caffeine, and eat before I go shooting). For the instructors on this forum, have you had anyone in class with something similar? Maybe even the old timers?

I’ve been shooting for a few years, and with a rifle, I’m mostly fine (qualified expert in the army) But, I’ve avoided handgun classes for the obvious reasons. I want to continue challenging myself, but I’m concerned especially with Strong hand or Weak hand only drills that seem to be a part of most classes I have been researching.

Thanks in advance. Let me know if something was unclear, or if this is the wrong area to post.

Occam's Razor
04-08-2011, 11:43 AM
Nick - As an instructor myself, I don't think there is any instructor out there, worth his salt, who wouldn't be willing to help you find some solutions to your issues. Anyone who has ever been involved in an armed confrontation can attest to the fact that with the adrenaline dump that takes place, everyone's hands shake to a degree. Also, in a defensive situation the distances involved are going to dictate your actions. Historically, these are very short distances so your situation would probably not be as big an issue as you might think, since what you are really concerned with are defensive effective hits. There are probably some folks on the forum in your area who can make some educated suggestions on who to check out.

Odin Bravo One
04-09-2011, 10:20 AM
Nick,