PDA

View Full Version : What are the benefits of dry-firing?

cslate
12-26-2012, 04:37 PM
I'm new to handguns, since I wasn't really allowed to shoot them growing up (mostly shot firearms for hunting not simply to shoot). Happy to have found PF.com and PT.com. Absolutely outstanding resources!

In searching the forums, I've run across multiple posts that talk about dry-firing, and it sounds like it must be a good idea. Can someone explain it a little more, such as the benefits/proper technique?

John Ralston
12-26-2012, 05:01 PM
Lots of free practice in the convenient space of your garage or basement.

Chris Rhines
12-26-2012, 05:28 PM
Welcome, cslate!

Dry-fire or dry practice, is simply the act of practicing weapon manipulations, such as the trigger press, establishing the grip, the draw, reloading, etc., all without ammunition in the gun.

The main benefit of dry practice is that it allows a shooter to refine his weapon manipulations to a much finer degree than one can when firing live. Take note of that part about, "...to a much finer degree..." I contend that dry practice is not just something that you do when you can't get to the range. In fact, I think that dry practice can be superior to live practice for building many of the skills that make up good practical pistol shooting.

In order to see the most benefit from dry practice, you have to be consistent about it. You'll be better off dry-firing for ten minutes every day, than for an hour once a week. I've seen no evidence that one can dry-fire too much.