PDA

View Full Version : Can I build basic pistol skills from nothing with an airgun and online resources?

paul-mf
01-26-2024, 06:21 PM
Hi All, I'm a rank newbie with firearms and looking to build some level of basic skill with the Glock 19 I picked up for home defense a couple of years ago.

There are no firing ranges or personal instructor options convenient to my area, and my neighbors would definitely complain about noise if I trained using a real pistol.

I'm planning to start building my skills using a blowback airgun Glock, YouTube videos, and paper targets in my back yard (7 acres). Also, based on the videos I've watched so far, I'm thinking I want to learn on a red dot sight as the easiest way to get some ability to hit mid size targets in the 5 to 25 yard range.

I would welcome any advice about the feasibility of this approach and/or appropriateness of red dot. In particular, if I should get reasonably skilled with the airgun at hitting targets, will this translate to some degree of effectiveness with the real thing? If this is a reasonable approach I would especially appreciate recommendations for books, blogs, or online videos.

Thanks in advance for any advice. And please let me know if there is a more appropriate forum to post this kind of request to.

-Paul in Marble

Clusterfrack
01-26-2024, 06:49 PM
Welcome to Pistol-Forum, Paul. What a great question, and one I'm not sure anyone has asked here before.

My main concern with new gun owners is safety: including storage, handling, loading, unloading, holstering, firing, and proper/legal use. I think airsoft or even a Bluegun is a great way to learn and practice, and I have used both when teaching new shooters. Of course some of the things you need to learn require the real gun, and that needs to be done safely so you don't shoot yourself or your family members accidentally.