PDA

View Full Version : RFI on Georgia, Armenia. and Azerbaijan

luckyman
04-09-2023, 01:07 PM
Considering going to Tbilisi, Yerevan, and Baku in the early fall. I’ve heard that safety might be an issue away from the cities towards the borders, but I’m really uncertain about how safe the actual cities are.

Would really appreciate any insights. Plus just general travel feedback is always greatly appreciated.

Caballoflaco
04-09-2023, 02:13 PM
Considering going to Tbilisi, Yerevan, and Baku in the early fall. I’ve heard that safety might be an issue away from the cities towards the borders, but I’m really uncertain about how safe the actual cities are.

Would really appreciate any insights. Plus just general travel feedback is always greatly appreciated.

I’m not an expert by any means on that part of the world, but with so much happening right now, any advice someone might give you today could have zero value by this fall. There have been some border incursions/fighting in Armenia/Azerbaijan and between Georgian separatists and Russia in the last 2-3 weeks.

If you were an irl friend I would suggest traveling to an area that’s not a gray zone on the outskirts of the largest land war in Europe since WW2 right now.

Eta: I also forgot about some massive protests in Tbilisi in early March too.

Duces Tecum
04-09-2023, 03:48 PM
The State Department Travel Advisory may be useful:
https://www.insuremytrip.com/travel-advice/travel-planning/us-state-dept-travel-advisories/#IC

Some people hire a guide, familiar with the local customs, accompany them while in that country. If the State Department has a presence, they might be helpful in recommending someone.

If you need a guide plus a car and driver while in-country, you might approach a used car dealer. They might provide their eldest son as driver, and because it's their son the car will be one least likely to break down. And they're local so they know most of the places to avoid.

Duces

TGS
04-09-2023, 06:43 PM