PDA

View Full Version : MOE size for carry Optics??

asn
12-30-2022, 07:01 PM
I'm new to USPSA, and want to mount an optic on my CZ Shadow. I've used iron sites forever, so please coach me. what size MOE is best for competition, and why?

Lon
12-30-2022, 11:11 PM
I'm new to USPSA, and want to mount an optic on my CZ Shadow. I've used iron sites forever, so please coach me. what size MOE is best for competition, and why?

I think you mean MOA size dot? If that’s the case, that’s a very individual opinion. For example, my best friend and I have each been shooting USPSA for almost 30 years. He prefers a 5-6 MOA dot. I prefer the 2.5-3ish MOA dot. Your best bet is to see if you can find rental examples to shoot at a local range and give ‘em a whirl.

JCN
12-30-2022, 11:35 PM
5-6 is standard for USPSA.

RJ
12-31-2022, 10:00 AM
I suck at USPSA, with 15 matches and a 38% D in Production. Having said that, I switched from irons to a HS507C set to a 2 MOA dot on both a carry G19 and competition G34. Due to my disuse due to: reasons and aforementioned lack of skill, my last couple of matches I had trouble finding the 2 MOA dot.

In 2022 I added a 6 MOA dot 407K to my P365X for carry and sold the G19. I’m about to buy a 6 MOA EPS Carry for an XL slide + Macro Grip P365 to rejoin shooting in USPSA for 2023. At my skill level, I think a 6 MOA dot (1.57” at 25 yds) is more than accurate, considering I need to work on almost anything except the shooting part to do better in matches.

asn
12-31-2022, 10:53 AM
thanks guys, and yes I meant MOA.

1911Nut
12-31-2022, 07:51 PM
Lon's suggestion to try before you buy is a good one if you can make it happen. Personally, I strongly prefer a 5-6.5 MOA dot for the type of shooting you are considering. A smaller 2" dot is better suited for slower, more precise shooting for ME. Multi-reticle optics, while interesting and offering "choices" for the shooter, mostly appear far too "busy" for ME.

Quantrill
12-31-2022, 11:26 PM

This

ECK