PDA

View Full Version : LASIK as a self defense aid

JCN
10-23-2022, 05:28 PM
I did a combatives class this weekend and one thing that really struck me was how fucked I would be if I was grappling and lost glasses.

I seriously can’t see shit.

I don’t mind glasses and most times I’m glad for the default eye protection…

But it was really eye opening (pun intended) of what a massive disadvantage I would be in a fight.

Has that entered into anyone else’s mental calculus?

Willard
10-23-2022, 05:30 PM
I did a combatives class this weekend and one thing that really struck me was how fucked I would be if I was grappling and lost glasses.

But it was really eye opening (pun intended) of what a massive disadvantage I would be in a fight.

Reason military provided PRK under warfighter refractive surgery.

Magsz
10-23-2022, 05:34 PM

Just do it. It's life changing. There's really no reason not to other than cost and the fact that it doesn't last forever.

Cory
10-23-2022, 05:48 PM
I recently made the move to contacts because of similar issues. Frames are a hinderance to grappling, and poor vision is a hinderance to shooting.

If I knew who to trust with my odd oblique astigmatism and the cost wasn't a factor I'd have already gotten some form of laser correction.

BehindBlueI's
10-23-2022, 06:47 PM

Yes. I had it done in '03 prior to going to work for DynCorp. Part of the job was the ability to wear the military gas mask and if you have glasses they have to make you these little prescription inserts. They suck, and I had no idea how long it would take to get them. Plus you're supposed to stow your regular glasses in your gas mask case when you switch out and I just knew I'd lose them in the sand.