PDA

View Full Version : LA Times - No Culture of Violence at LAPD SWAT

Erick Gelhaus
08-01-2022, 05:33 PM
Main "Story"
https://www.latimes.com/california/story/2022-07-27/no-culture-of-violence-in-swat-lapd-review-finds

Referenced "story"
https://www.latimes.com/california/story/2020-07-29/lapd-swat-unit-controlled-by-swat-mafia-that-encourages-deadly-shootings-sergeant-lawsuit-alleges

"SWAT officers did not use force in 1,245 of the 1,350 incidents they responded to between 2012 and 2022 ... "

Totem Polar
08-01-2022, 05:39 PM
I’m no expert, but it seems that a true culture of violence would produce more than 20 shootings in 10 years across all personnel, given the type of work and the location.

In all, it seems like LAPD SWAT is actually pretty good at handling the things they get paid to handle.

JMO.

Hambo
08-01-2022, 05:44 PM
Main "Story"
https://www.latimes.com/california/story/2022-07-27/no-culture-of-violence-in-swat-lapd-review-finds

Referenced "story"
https://www.latimes.com/california/story/2020-07-29/lapd-swat-unit-controlled-by-swat-mafia-that-encourages-deadly-shootings-sergeant-lawsuit-alleges

"SWAT officers did not use force in 1,245 of the 1,350 incidents they responded to between 2012 and 2022 ... "

Only 20 OIS in all those incidents, and 5 incidents in which SWAT took fire but did not return fire.

Coyotesfan97
08-01-2022, 08:23 PM