PDA

View Full Version : AAR: Pistol-Training.com Concealed Carry Skills class in Culpeper VA 8-9 Sept 2012

Mr Pink
09-13-2012, 04:06 PM
I recently attended the inaugural Concealed Carry Skills class in Culpeper VA. I enjoy reading AARs, but I think it adds to it if we know the shooting skills or background of those writing the AAR. It makes it easier to exercise due diligence.

After a few years of not shooting much, I decided get back in the swing of things. In a former life I was a former Special Forces CQB & marksmanship instructor. I have a Master class rating in IDPA (SSP) and an Advanced rating from the Rogers Shooting course. Additionally, I have been to over 20 formal shooting schools.

I have an outline below of what we did, but first here are a few things that I found particularly useful:

-During Todd's initial lecture he discussed the importance of pro-timers. Careful study of police and civilian shooting incidents show that during engagements, the average bad guy shoots a round about every quarter of a second or .25. Using the pro-timer to reduce your times by .25 could mean the difference of a bullet hole in yourself. Basically, an additional second added to your technique is approximately 4 rounds fired by the bad guy.

-Todd discussed the draw and incorporating the press out. The press out is a very efficient and practical way of running a pistol. I had learned it before, but over the years, reverted back to a sloppy presentation technique. It is one of the many things that I will put effort into re-learning.