PDA

View Full Version : Arizona Training Opportunities?

rwb03
09-06-2012, 11:14 PM
I'm wondering whether there are any credible handgun training courses in Arizona (greater Phoenix area), and from whom it would be worth seeking training. My guess is that there are credible courses/instructors available in Arizona, however, sometimes it's difficult to "separate the wheat from the chaff". I'd like to hear from the folks on this board, where I should seek out training opportunities in Arizona.

Although, I took a basic pistol course from my range 15 years ago and have had my ccw since 2003, I would like to take things to the "next level" (even if that means starting over again at a basic pistol course to undo all the bad habits I've taught myself over the years). I currently shoot 500 - 700 rounds a month, at a static range. I've been an avid bird hunter for the past 25 years, so I'm not a novice when it comes to gun safety (although a review of gun safety can never hurt). My primary focus is defense related versus competing in the various gun games, unless someone feels those games have tangible benefits when it comes to personal defense.

My goals are:
1. Improve accuracy at speed.
2. Improve my draw from a holster and press out.
3. Improve my reloading & clearing malfunctions under stress / at speed (more advanced gun handling skills, I know).
4. Begin developing skills to gain an upper-hand in a force-on-force situation (situational awareness, handling various situations, etc.).
5. Be able to post some decent DotW scores on this site & attend a FAST class some day (this is a bonus, so I can see some tangible evidence regarding my improvement).

If I should add a reasonable goal or two, I'm game, as long as it makes sense in terms of improving my handgun skills related to defensive purposes. Basically, I want to learn to walk again before I can run. I'd love to take one of Todd's classes someday, but I have some work to do before I get there.

Thanks,
Rob