PDA

View Full Version : Does the Increased Size of Closed Emitter Red Dot's Lessen a Pistol's Reliability?

Rack
02-10-2022, 01:52 PM
I'm wondering if the increased weight of a closed emitter will lessen the window of reliability on a pistol? Is there any data or observations on this?

Thanks.

TCinVA
02-10-2022, 02:12 PM
I've not seen an enclosed emitter optic cause a stoppage or malfunction on a pistol yet. I've been carrying and using an Acro mounted to a Gen5 17 for a couple of years now and I've been around a boatload of Holosun enclosed emitter optics. In teaching and attending dozens of classes with thousands of rounds fired I've not seen any delta in the function of guns equipped with closed emitter and open emitter optics.

joshs
02-10-2022, 02:21 PM
I've not seen an enclosed emitter optic cause a stoppage or malfunction on a pistol yet. I've been carrying and using an Acro mounted to a Gen5 17 for a couple of years now and I've been around a boatload of Holosun enclosed emitter optics. In teaching and attending dozens of classes with thousands of rounds fired I've not seen any delta in the function of guns equipped with closed emitter and open emitter optics.

Same here. No difference in my experience. If you are trying to get a slide-ride .22 to run, I can the small difference in optic weight mattering. Otherwise, it doesn't seem to matter.

1Rangemaster
02-10-2022, 02:31 PM
I’ve seen thousands of rounds through my own G19 and other GLOCKs w/Aimpoint ACRO P-1s, several thousand with a couple of Holosun 509Ts, and a few hundred with a Steiner MPS-one sample; no stoppages/malfs.
US Federal LE have tested ACROs, and it’s my understanding they “passed”.
Not an issue, it seems…

GJM
02-10-2022, 02:38 PM
I had a perfectly reliable iron sight Gen 4 17, that I had the Unity system installed. Subsequently it had reliability problems with an Aimpoint micro, but not with an RMR.

I have not observed issues with the Acro or 509T.