PDA

View Full Version : Is the Sig 556 Rifle Any Good?

mrozowjj
08-15-2012, 02:56 PM
Pretty much the post title. Depending on which website I end up at I either get a lot of people in love with the gun or a lot of people bitching about QC issues and problems with the gun. It hard to be able to cut through the BS and see who is right.

SecondsCount
08-15-2012, 03:02 PM
Pretty much the post title. Depending on which website I end up at I either get a lot of people in love with the gun or a lot of people bitching about QC issues and problems with the gun. It hard to be able to cut through the BS and see who is right.

I have no personal experience with the 556 except with those that I have seen in classes and the couple that the owners let me shoot. At one class I attended the student was having issues with Wolf ammo but got it sorted out by adjusting the gas system. Other than that they have all run fine.

I cannot answer to the long term durability or QC issues.

Jay Cunningham
08-15-2012, 03:10 PM
It's one of those things where you need to ask yourself "why?"

Even if you get your hands on one that is 100% satisfactory to you in the accuracy and reliability departments, is it giving you something over an AR?

If you just want one, that's perfectly valid. But it's just another way to put 5.56mm downrange.

jstyer
08-15-2012, 03:18 PM

Even if you get your hands on one that is 100% satisfactory to you in the accuracy and reliability departments, is it giving you something over an AR?

This this this... This is exactly what everyone should ask before they "buy into" the non-standard system. Any class or any shop you go to, no one will have spare parts, no one will have spare anything... with an AR you're buying into an ultra-adaptable, ultra-common system.

mrozowjj
08-15-2012, 03:18 PM

If you just want one, that's perfectly valid. But it's just another way to put 5.56mm downrange.