PDA

View Full Version : Modifying factory safety features to other factory configurations

Suvorov
10-31-2021, 11:46 PM
One thing I just thought of,

What are the chances that the fire control group would be made available for those of us with legacy guns to retrofit? Would replacing the trigger mechanism with a SAI trigger sans magazine disconnect be less of a liability than simply removing the disconnect from the gun?

(CULLED FROM SA-35 thread - Mod)

WobblyPossum
11-01-2021, 06:36 AM
Would replacing the trigger mechanism with a SAI trigger sans magazine disconnect be less of a liability than simply removing the disconnect from the gun?

First things first, I am not a lawyer of any kind. I think that if an overzealous prosecutor found out you removed a safety mechanism from the gun and wanted to bring it up during your trial, they would. The fact that another manufacturer makes a similar gun that lacks this mechanism doesn’t matter because you used your gun, not the other gun. You’d be paying your attorneys extra for the time it takes to address these points before and during trial, which may include research and consultation and testimony from expert witnesses. It’s up to you if having a better BHP trigger is worth the extra financial risk. I have a hard time thinking of a scenario where the thing determining whether or not your shooting goes to trial is your removal of the magazine disconnect. It’ll either be brought up because you’re going to trial or no one will care because you aren’t.

Stephanie B
11-01-2021, 09:48 AM
Would replacing the trigger mechanism with a SAI trigger sans magazine disconnect be less of a liability than simply removing the disconnect from the gun?