PDA

View Full Version : Sig sauer P-series

virgo
08-09-2012, 01:35 PM
I would like some sig professions to chime in on how a p220 would be for carry, as far as being dependable.

I don't care about the weight or size just wondering about the quality and reliability of say a Sig P220R ss elite.

Mjolnir
08-10-2012, 05:28 AM
I'm no professional but I must ask "what do or how do you define dependable"? I have seen no evidence that would lead me to believe the P220 could not sprint through three or four magazines (as many as you'd likely have on you at any given time).

A P226 would be more concealable yet still be a full-sized service pistol. If you choose to go that route try to snag a NSW-9 or the new Mk-25.

JV_
08-10-2012, 07:07 AM
I have seen no evidence that would lead me to believe the P220 could not sprint through three or four magazines (as many as you'd likely have on you at any given time).Some 220s run much better than others, especially if you're comparing the internal vs. external extractor models.
http://pistol-forum.com/showthread.php?739-SIG-P220R-Malfunctions
The Elite Stainless 220 should have an external extractor.

P220 issues aside, my idea of dependable/reliable does extend beyond the number of mags I can carry on my body. All of my current handguns have passed a 2000 round challenge.

A P226 would be more concealableThe 226 and 220 are quite close in size.
http://i163.photobucket.com/albums/t307/dexternikki/Sigs/IMG_3219.jpg

I would encourage you to try/shoot both a beaver-tailed Sig and a non beaver-tailed model, I prefer the models without.

JHC
08-10-2012, 08:37 AM
I've not much to add about long term reliability but my briefly owned "roll pin" P220 was insanely accurate. Now that gun presented a high bore axis problem for me in recoil. P226 and P239 in 9mm, not at all.