PDA

View Full Version : Are Classes the Only Way to Become Proficient?

Doc_Glock
02-08-2021, 02:23 PM
Obviously by the way I phrase the title, I don't think it is true. There are lots of ways to proficiency in firearms and I think the self taught model can be just as good or even better than attending classes.

In general around PF, there is a tendency to push classes on folks. I don't think that is necessarily wrong, but I don't think they are necessary at all.

I guess a lot comes from what sort of learner you are. For me: I have always learned from books and self testing on most topics and found lectures sort of a big waste of time.

In this era of information on the web plus video I don't think there has ever been an easier time to be an auto didact. And I think it is probably more efficient though that is probably debateable.

Firearms are consequential, but basic gun handling and marksmanship is not a difficult skill to learn.

If you want to learn defense tactics, I think a course is probably more useful, but there is also an awful lot of written material out there going back hundreds of years if you look.

If you want to learn competition shooting there is also plenty of information available.

I think much more important than any in person class is: interest in the topic, the willingness to do the reading, and probably most importantly, the willingness to put in the practice and the necessary feedback cycle of push til you fail, analyze the failure, correct the flaws and try again.

I have taken a few classes and invariably I am bugged by the massive amounts of wasted time.

Anyhoo: discuss
GJM

Tom Givens
02-08-2021, 02:31 PM